Skip to content (access key 's')
Logo of Technion
Logo of CS Department
Logo of CS4People

The Taub Faculty of Computer Science Events and Talks

ceClub: TeamBoost: Enhanced Cloud Connectivity Through Collaborative MPTCP
event speaker icon
Osnat (Ossi) Mokryn (Haifa University and Academic TLV)
event date icon
Wednesday, 10.06.2015, 11:30
event location icon
EE Meyer Building 1007
We present TeamBoost, a collaborative Multi-Path TCP (MPTCP) solution enabling a client device to leverage its nearby devices over a local network, i.e., WiFi. The client harnesses its nearby devices autonomous connectivity to deliver and relay TCP sub streams of traffic to and from the cloud. The motivation for TeamBoost comes from the need to supply or enhance cloud connectivity to a vehicle infotainment system (the client device). This solution boosts end-to-end performance in terms of bandwidth, latency, and robustness by leveraging the cellular devices of the vehicle occupants.

TeamBoost's approach is to build upon the MPTCP protocol. It splits a TCP stream into multiple TCP sub-streams that traverse different communication links between two end-points. The described scenario, however, does not lend itself to a straight forward use of MPTCP, and presents considerable architectural challenges. TeamBoost therefore presents a novel architecture that leverages MPTCP's multi-stream managements capabilities over multiple devices.

TeamBoost is fully implemented and is deployed as a prototype. We further present our experimental results that show the benefits of harnessing multiple devices, as well as achieved robustness.

Osnat (Ossi) Mokryn is a senior lecturer at the Academic College Tel Aviv Yaffo and a Researcher in the Information System Dept., University of Haifa. Ossi's research interests are in accelerating content delivery to end users, as well as social media mining and social networks. Currently she serves as a member of the Technical Program Committee for the ACM SigComm CoNext 2015. Previously she was a member of the Technical Program Committee of ACM SigComm IMC 2014.