Skip to content (access key 's')
Logo of Technion
Logo of CS Department
Logo of CS4People

The Taub Faculty of Computer Science News and Announcements

2012/13 CS Excellent Students (SAMBA) Award and Dean Excellence Ceremony
Monday, June 24, 2013
The Excellent CS Students Program (SAMBA) Followships Award and 2013 winter semester Dean Excellence awarding (to 144 excellent students) ceremony was held on Sunday, June 23, 2013, at the Taub Computer Science Building and was attended by many guests, family members of the awardees and representatives of the families and companies that donated the fwlloships. Prof. Eli Biham,

CS Dean, and Prof. Shaul Markovitch, vice Dean for undergraduate studies, congratulated the excellent students on their achievements. Mr. Israel Abramovich, Mrs. Nurit Lavie and Mr. Michael Kagan spoke in honor and memory of Yosefa Abramovich, Assaf Lavie and Guy Shevet. Mr. Michael Lerer - SAMBA student and Vaad Chair - spoke on behalf of the CS Student Association and Mr. Alon Brifman, in amusing rhymes represented the students and thanked the families and companies for their donation. A musical duo performed with flute and guitar.

This year fellowships were generously granted as follows:

The Yosefa Abramovich Foundation, founded by Elbit Systems, bestowed Amit Fuchs and Neta Elad, in memory of Mrs. Yosefa Abramovich. The prize was presented by Israel Abramovich and his children Talor and Hilli.

The Check Point Technologies Assaf Lavie Foundation bestowed Ron Ben Ishay, Amir Blum, Eidan Cohen, Daniel Garfunkel, Matan Hamilis and Ronen Ziv. The prize was presented by Nurit and Gadi Lavie.

The Mellanox Technologies Guy Shevet Foundation bestowed Alon Brifman, Nofar Carmeli and Omer Hershenson. The prize was presented by Anat and Eitan Shevet and Michael Kagan.

The American Technion Society (ATS) bestowed the 2012/13 Ernest Freudman Special Fellowship on Gali Milman.

This year, a special prize for social involvement and contribution, donation of Prof. Irad Yavneh and Mr. Gil Hovav, was awarded to three students - Amir Cohen, Michael Lerer and Vadim Sirotnikov. Mr. Gil Hovav and Prof. Yavneh congratulated the students and Michael Lerer gave a short speech.

Thanks to all participants and all donors and congratulations to all 2012/13 fellowships winners![Back to the news index]